Johnny Cash » Songs » The Old Rugged Cross

Who's Dated Who feature on The Old Rugged Cross - Johnny Cash including trivia, pics, news, vital stats, fans and facts.

Do you like Johnny Cash?


Music Video

The following Youtube video has been added by our user community for this Johnny Cash song:
Johnny Cash "The Old Rugged Cross" Music Video

Song Lyrics

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross the emblem of suffering and shame

And I love that old cross where the dearest and best

For a word of lost sinners was slain

So I`ll cherish the old rugged cross till my trophies at last I lay down

I will cling to the old rugged cross and exchange it some day for a crown

To the old rugged cross I will ever be true it`s shame and reproach gladly bear

Then he`ll call me some day to my home far away where his glory forever I`ll share

So I`ll cherish...

And exchange it some day for a crown

Release History

The Johnny Cash song "The Old Rugged Cross" appears on the following albums:
Bootleg Vol. IV: The Soul Of Truth
03 April 2012

Bootleg Vol. IV: The Soul Of Truth

  1. Back in the Fold (3:24)
  2. Wings In The Morning (2:45)
  3. Gospel Boogie (A Wonderful Time Up There) (2:39)
  4. Look Unto The East (2:13)
  5. Over The Next Hill (We'll Be Home) (2:09)
  6. He's Alive (4:16)
  7. Sanctified (2:34)
  8. I've Got Jesus In My Soul (2:39)
  9. Would You Recognize Jesus (2:32)
  10. That's Just Like Jesus (3:11)
  11. When He Comes (3:32)
  12. I Was There when It Happened (2:15)
  13. I'm A Newborn Man (1:40)
  14. Keep Me From Blowing Away (3:04)
  15. Don't Give Up on Me (2:34)
  16. Strange Things Happening Everyday (3:31)
  17. Children Go Where I Send Thee (6:21)
  18. I'm Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (2:14)
  19. Waiting On The Far Side Banks Of Jordan (2:48)
  20. Lay Me Down In Dixie (1:59)
  21. Our Little Old Home Town (2:41)
  22. Belshazzar (2:30)
  23. Don't Take Everybody to Be Your Friend (2:22)
  24. My Children Walk In Truth (2:50)
  25. You'll Get Yours and I'll Get Mine (2:20)
  26. Oh Come, Angel Band (2:44)
  27. The Old Rugged Cross (2:49)
  28. One of These Days I'm Gonna Sit Down and Talk to Paul (3:21)
  29. This Train Is Bound For Glory (3:29)
  30. God Ain't No Stained Glass Window (3:07)
  31. I'm Gonna Try To Be That Way (2:48)
  32. Half A Mile A Day (3:21)
  33. What on Earth (Will You Do for Heaven's Sake) (2:03)
  34. Another Wide River To Cross (2:25)
  35. That's Enough (2:43)
  36. The Greatest Cowboy of Them All (3:41)
  37. You're Drifting Away (1:35)
  38. Believe In Him (3:25)
  39. Didn't It Rain (2:29)
  40. He Touched Me (2:32)
  41. Over There (3:12)
  42. Gospel Road (3:44)
  43. Way Worn Traveler (1:53)
  44. I'll Have a New Life (2:18)
  45. What is Man (2:24)
  46. Truth (2:17)
  47. Wildwood in The Pines (2:42)
  48. Never Grow Old (2:39)

Similar songs:

Related profiles:

Big River (1958)
Busted (1963)
Class Of '55 (1981)
Cocaine Blues (1971)
Cry, Cry, Cry (1956)
Get Rhythm (1959)
Gone Girl (1978)
Greatest! (2003)
Heroes (1986)
Highwayman (1985)
Highwayman 2 (1990)
Hurt (2002)
Highwayman (1999)
Highwayman (1985)
Highwayman 2 (1990)
Johnny Cash
Johnny Cash
Johnny Cash

Who's Dated Who? content is contributed and edited by our readers. You are most welcome to update, correct or add information to this page. Update Information
Johnny Cash

Main Details

Other Details






Top Contributors Today

  • CindyCelebs
  • mandia27
  • eviltwins
  • Phoebe
  • angel_angel

Register Here to contribute to FamousFix. Login »



Song Duration

Join Now

Register to update information, save favorites, post photos, news stories and comments.

Already A Member?



Forgot Password?